In my neighborhood – Ljubljana

As this trip progresses, I am finding a common theme to my pictures and my postings, both in WordPress and in Facebook.  There is a tension between the touristic and the day-to-day experience that begs for analysis.  Enrolling in the local public bicycle program helped me expand my understanding of this.

Starting from where we stayed, I took one or two trips daily.  The graffiti on the deteriorating walls of the building where we stayed suggested to me a run down neighborhood.  On close examination, the care given the flowers and plants in the window boxes illustrated a spirit of revival that characterized my discoveries.  I took a picture of my reflection and my account from the public bicycle terminal.

Window boxes in our building

Window boxes in our building

Selfie with my public bicycle log

Selfie with my public bicycle log

Map to bicycle to Sunday Grocery Store

Map to bicycle to Sunday Grocery Store

Most shops are closed or close early on Sunday.  I followed bike paths to one that was open.
Just across the street from us is the Metelkova district.  This is an arts and alternative life style enclave that is home to a well known music club and also an art gallery.

Metelkova Refuge

Metelkova Refuge

Inside Metelkova refuge

Inside Metelkova refuge

One misty morning I road out along the Ljubljana river by the Dragon Bridge down to the South branch by the locks.

Dragon Bridge in the fog

Dragon Bridge in the fog

Locks of the Ljubljanica River south channel

Locks of the Ljubljanica River south channel

On a warm afternoon, I saw a sign for the road to the castle.  Even though I had to walk the bike part of the way, it provided some spectacular views.  Also, an exciting ride and skids down a gravel path I chose back to the city.  I was not sure whether to take that path until I saw a man pushing a baby pram down it followed by a young man on a bicycle.

From University Square toward Castle

From University Square toward Castle

Overlooking the city though a viaduct

Overlooking the city though a viaduct

From Castle toward western mountains

From Castle toward western mountains

In the final summation, we have many interesting experiences seeking out the unique and the common during our week in Ljubljana.  I wonder what we will feel after a week in Zagreb.

About c_in_b

The journey of a single step begins with ideas of a thousand miles.
This entry was posted in bicycle, Slovenia, Travel and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to In my neighborhood – Ljubljana

  1. The Designated Liar says:

    Beautiful landscape and cityscape, unspoiled by western-style commercial signage and billboards. Without the large signs for Coca-Cola, McDonalds, Starbucks, etc. even the graffiti starts to look nicer.

  2. The Designated Liar says:

    Well, maybe not -about the graffiti.

    • c_in_b says:

      Well, maybe so, the graffiti even begins to have a rhythm and flow from the Metelkova diminishing to words and and scribbles along the streets to canvases on railroad cars.

Leave a Reply

