Moving On

This has been the latest theme of my travels as  I continue from South to North (and also East to West along the isthmus) in Central America.  Later, I will provide more descriptions and photos of where and how.  In this post I want to touch a little bit on my philosophy.

In the city of San Salvador, El Salvador I found this monument to Pablo Neruda.

IMG_5004

He wrote one of my favorite books in Spanish, Confieso que he vivido (translation: I confess that I have lived, the title in English is Memoirs). His spirit of adventure as he lived in Ceylon (Sri Lanka) and India have been an inspiration

I am not adventurous though some might wonder considering this headline from May 17th:

In El Salvador, the Murder Capital of the World

  • First, nowhere is totally safe.
  • Second, mostly we have encountered the nicest and friendliest people in our travels
  • Third, advancing age makes up for my lack of common sense.  The need for a public toilet and a place to nap keeps me out of a lot of trouble.
  • Fourth, I learn slowly from mistakes, but I do not dwell on unpleasantness.

Remember, headlines sell advertising.  They generally do not reflect what is really happening at the level of local communities and travelers. Here is a headline from May 20 about my hometown, Tukwila, WA.

Tukwila named America’s most dangerous city

I mark my place. In San Salvador,  I was at Kilometer 0 where all distances are measured in El Salvador.  Later, I moved up to Kilometer 84 near the village of Juayúa.

 

IMG_4785
IMG_5136

 

My hope and wish is that wherever you are and whatever you do, in the end you can also confess, “I have lived.”

About c_in_b

The journey of a single step begins with ideas of a thousand miles.
This entry was posted in El Salvador, memory, Travel and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

